Speed Reading — Southern Ocean - Level 2 — 100 wpm

Next Activity:
Try the same text at a reading speed of 200 words per minute.

This is the text (if you need help).

We learn at school that there are four oceans - the Atlantic, Indian, Pacific and Arctic Oceans. However, the National Geographic Society now accepts there is a "Southern Ocean". This is around the South Pole and Antarctica. Geography teachers will now teach students that the world has five oceans. National Geographic said: "We think it's really important from an educational [viewpoint]...to bring attention to the Southern Ocean as a fifth ocean."

Learning about the Southern Ocean will change how children see the world and climate change. National Geographic said students must learn about how important oceans are to the world. It said: "Antarctica forms a distinct ecological region defined by ocean currents and temperatures." It added that the Southern Ocean has "unique and fragile marine ecosystems" full of wonderful ocean life like whales, penguins and seals.

Back to the Southern Ocean lesson.

More Activities